Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 12:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 4:07 am
Posts: 1012
Location: North of the 49th parallel
Coming to the conclusion that I will probably stick with the one lens for now (until the perfect “macro” comes along).
I was wondering if it’s possible to “turn off” the dust reduction camera shake feature, and therefore prolonging battery life.
Or do you all think that there is always a “tiny” amount of dust getting in anyway, and this is a good preventive measure that should always be engaged?.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8022
Location: UK
Regardless if it helps with the dust or not, I think the battery usage will be insignificant overall so best not worry about it.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:34 pm 
I was on holiday to Thailand recently and took about 300 shots. About halfway through I started to notice some dust spots that appeared at F16 and above. When I got home, I checked all photos and the first shot where this dust spot appears is around shot 170.

Now I have two lenses, the kit lens and the Tamron zoom one. I dislike swapping the lens so I rarely do it. In fact, I didn't swap the lenses at all this past holiday so it completely amazes me to find this dust spot on my sensor.

Maybe the kit lens has a really poor mount, but there are two things that you could take away from my experience.
1) The dust cleaning system sucks.
2) Dust somehow always manages to find its way onto the sensor.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:59 am 
cleaning the sensor is probably the best option as it seems that the built in anti dust is not effective


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 6950
Location: The Netherlands, Ridderkerk
First of all: I don't even know whether the anti-dust feature can be turned of (should be somewhere in the menu), but there's not much reason to do so. The extra battery life would be very little, not enough to sacrifice the danger of getting more dust on the sensor.

Second of all: the system isn't 100% reliable, of course. There will always be some dust, especially if you change lenses often. That's the main way of getting dust into your camera. However, also by zooming you draw dust inside. When zooming the lens to a longer focal length, the camera sucks in some air (other wise there'd be something similar to a vacuum, with less air pressure). Dust can also be sucked in. Best way to use the zoom is to zoom in slowly.

- Bjorn -

_________________
Street and documentary photographer | Google+ | Twitter

Leica M9-P (my article on Camera Labs) | Leica D-Lux 5 | 50mm Summilux


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group