Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Jan 27, 2015 3:38 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi everyone, this is the official thread to discuss the Sony Alpha A6000. See my Sony A6000 review for more details.

You may also find my Mirrorless Sports Photography article interesting as it showcases my experiences with the A6000 and FE 70-200mm f4G OSS at the 2014 Tour de France!

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8058
Location: UK
Still interesting to see how the AF is catching up to DSLRs. Did you also test it under lower light conditions? I had seen another review elsewhere suggesting under lower light conditions, it was much slower than DSLR phase AF.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D2, 7D1, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 10-18, 15-85
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 50/1.4A, 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS
Compacts: Sony HX9V, Fuji X100.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:23 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Boca Raton, FL, USA
It is slower than a typical DSLR with PDAF when it comes to low light - the on-sensor PDAF no longer works once you get down to about 2EV at the metering point, so as light gets lower overall, the camera switches to CDAF to focus - in my experience it actually handles focusing very well in low light, a touch better than my NEX-5N, and always accurately and does acquire even in very low light, but it is slower to do so. I'd say where my DSLR can get near-instant focus at something around 1/20th of a second at ISO6400, F1.8, and 1/30 shutter, my A6000 with the same settings in the same light conditions may take as long as 1/3 to 1/2 second to acquire focus. That's without any AF assist lights and no flash. But it does still get the focus correct - and it's up to what you need to shoot in low light as to whether the roughly 1/3 second is considered "much slower", or just a little slower. Someone shooting a running football player at 200mm in low light and needing instant focus may find that 1/3 second delay to be interminable - someone shooting a person sitting in a dark bar, or an object on the table, isn't likely going to be perturbed waiting 1/3 second longer.

I shoot fairly extensively in low light - I'm often at ISO6400 to 12800, shooting wide open at F1.4 or F1.8, and getting shutter speeds of 1/15 to 1/40...I've not yet had the A6000 be incapable of getting proper AF, but just a bit slower than my DSLR can.

_________________
Justin Miller
Sony DSLR-A580 / Sony 18-250mm / Minolta 50mm F1.7 / Sigma 30mm F1.4 / Tamron 10-24mm / Tamron 150-600mm / Tamron 90mm F2.8 macro / Minolta 300mm F4 APO
Sony A6000 / 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 / 55-210mm F4-6.3 / 10-18mm F4 / 35mm F1.8 / 16mm F2.8 / via manual adapter, lots of Pentax K mount, Konica K/AR mount, and Leica M mount manual lenses

Galleries:
http://www.pbase.com/zackiedawg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2014 11:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8058
Location: UK
While I don't have any plans on making a system change any time soon, I do want to keep up to date on how they compare. If we abstract this to a performance comparison, it takes out the use cases variations. In short, I want to know if I can do something with a conventional DSLR in any given condition, will this also perform similarly? So what I'm hearing is, in low light, the AF tracking speed isn't there yet, even if it might be "close enough" in good light. Note I'm primarily interested in tracking AF, not one-shot, which I think reached "good enough" on mirrorless even years ago.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D2, 7D1, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 10-18, 15-85
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 50/1.4A, 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS
Compacts: Sony HX9V, Fuji X100.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:02 pm
Posts: 3
Hello there, newbie here,

I'm about to buy an a6000, but just discovered that a key feature for me is lacking, basically : Ability to use a phone/tablet as a remote display when recording videos (like DIY tutorials for instance), to check the framing/focus.
I understand that it is not working on the a6000, for instance :
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/54356729
And also from sony information :
http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www ... ducts.html
But can the phone/tablet still be used as a remote "control display" when recording (to check framing/focus , but without start/stop and other controls), or is it not working at all ? (the phone not displaying what the camera is recording) ?

Would be glad to have the info :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:23 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Boca Raton, FL, USA
I confess to not knowing much about video as I never use it - however, I do see that the A6000 does not allow video start/stop in the remote app - only stills photography can be triggered and viewed from the phone.

However, there might be simple workarounds - for example, if you use the app to display the camera's view in stills mode, to check focus and such, but then use the Sony IR remote to actually trigger movie start/stop, this might work (someone with an A6000 might need to try it for you to be sure)...since some of the Sony IR remotes do have a separate movie button. You'd have to make sure to set the movie button function to 'on' in the menu, so it can be accessed in all shooting modes, rather than only when in 'movie' mode on the mode dial. That's what comes to mind off hand.

_________________
Justin Miller
Sony DSLR-A580 / Sony 18-250mm / Minolta 50mm F1.7 / Sigma 30mm F1.4 / Tamron 10-24mm / Tamron 150-600mm / Tamron 90mm F2.8 macro / Minolta 300mm F4 APO
Sony A6000 / 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 / 55-210mm F4-6.3 / 10-18mm F4 / 35mm F1.8 / 16mm F2.8 / via manual adapter, lots of Pentax K mount, Konica K/AR mount, and Leica M mount manual lenses

Galleries:
http://www.pbase.com/zackiedawg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:02 pm
Posts: 3
Yes I could do that, but as it is to check if the focus is ok during recording (and moving things to close ups for instance), if there is no image at all on the phone/tablet while recording, it wouldn't really work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:23 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Boca Raton, FL, USA
If you need to physically see a picture on a screen while recording, the other option is to just use the HDMI out feed on the camera to any monitor, rather than the smart phone. Not sure if you are looking to film 'in the field', but if doing tutorials and such at home, it shouldn't be too difficult to get an HDMI cable and hook up the camera to that. Would that work for your purposes?

As I said, I don't really use video, so it's not an area I pay much attention to - but I do know the A6000 has a live out on HDMI, so it can be used for stills or video display during shooting.

_________________
Justin Miller
Sony DSLR-A580 / Sony 18-250mm / Minolta 50mm F1.7 / Sigma 30mm F1.4 / Tamron 10-24mm / Tamron 150-600mm / Tamron 90mm F2.8 macro / Minolta 300mm F4 APO
Sony A6000 / 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 / 55-210mm F4-6.3 / 10-18mm F4 / 35mm F1.8 / 16mm F2.8 / via manual adapter, lots of Pentax K mount, Konica K/AR mount, and Leica M mount manual lenses

Galleries:
http://www.pbase.com/zackiedawg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2014 9:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:02 pm
Posts: 3
Yes I could do that, but my current computer display is on DVI (although I guess there are adaptators), and unhooking/rehooking my computer display would be kind of a bummer ... Plus strangely enough, simple small hdmi monitor are really hard to find, or expensive (around 300 USD or more).
Thinking of taking an rx 100 mark III now ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:30 pm
Posts: 1
In the A6000 review, it is said that there is no GPS tagging possible from a smartphone apps.
Do you think this is something that could be added later with a software upgrade (remote apps and/or A6000 firmware) ?

Same question for the RX100 MIII


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group