Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 5:29 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:24 pm 

I've been using a Sony Alpha A200 for a few months with some pretty good results, I posted a gallery of some shots of The Cult band a couple of weeks ago on here.

2 weeks ago I bought an Alpha A550. With not-so-pretty-good results....
Every shot I take is so over-saturated with colour.
I have put the settings almost the same as my A200 (which I sold on eBay) but the results are so different. (Worse!)

I have tried changing almost every setting but can't figure out why the over-saturation.
Sony Alpha A550, 'out-of-box'. Sony f1.8 50mm lens, star filter.

Okay some examples. 10 days ago I shot my friend's band, using A550 for first time. Here are the results:
http://s279.photobucket.com/albums/kk13 ... blo/SALLB/
I have had to heavily photoshop them to get them to that "standard", de-saturate them so much.
Those were slightly better than my horrendous results last night. Photos above I used creative style vivid (by mistake!)

I thought maybe that creative style vivid was the problem, so I changed it to standard. Oh dear....
Last night I took these, very dark club, not much lighting, as shot, only cropped and reduced from 350 to 72dpi.

First example: Shutter priority, f1.8, ISO1600, 1/125

Shutter priority, f1.8 ISO800, 1/160

Shutter priority, f1.8, ISO400, 1/25

I shot some in creative style 'black & white' mode, they have all turned out fine (compared to above!)

Shutter priority, f1.8, ISO400, 1/50

Shutter priority, f2.0, ISO400, 1/20

I also used manual and program modes but they were even worse, forget about those. The reason I used shutter priority is because that is what I had most success with on the A200 with this lens. The photos above, why is the bass player orange? It wasn't like that in the club!