Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:32 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:55 pm 
Hello all,

Thought i'd register on the site and see if could get a bit of advice from you pro's :)

Now I'm quite new to DSLRs and photography in general. Got the Sony A230 last year and have been playing with it on and off since. Been reading up and sort of understanding all about lenses, shutter speed, aperture, iso etc.

Now, it was my engagement do a few weeks back so decided to stump up cash for a SONY DT 18-250mm f3.5-6.3 Lens beforehand so could get a few photos on the day without having to get right close up using kit lens (plus had also been been bit annoyed by lack of zoom during family holiday previously). Our do was indoors, had quite a few windows and was quite well lit. Had passed camera to a friend who could take pics however a lot (most) of the photos happened to come out blurred or grainy :( Good job we getting pro photographer for big day!

Now, having read up more and more, I'm thinking that for that particular occasion I bought the wrong type of lens. My friend was taking full use of the zoom and from my very limited knowledge I'm guessing the lack of light caused camera to bump up ISO (hence some grainy pics) and slow the shutter speed (hence blurry photos). So we came out with not many good pics of the day :(

Was that what is most likely to have happened - what would have been suggested with that setup? Or could it not really have been done with such a lens?

Anyways, few days ago my nieces were round, beautiful 7 months old twins... so out came the camera. Was taking photos indoors again - on the floor and it was bright day and was what i thought, quite a bit of light in the room.