Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:44 am
Posts: 28
Hello, I am in need of a wireless remote control, such as the RMT-DSLR1 from Sony. However, I'm not sure whether that's compatible with A200? I've did a search and I think it's not compatible (although I could not find anything that directly said that... just that it was not designed for A200). Does it still work for the older alpha models, such as A200? If not, what are my alternatives?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 792
Location: Philippines
don't belive in me if no one second my words but i do belive it will work for a100&200 it says its a remote comander of Alpha line camera so my thought it will... :D

_________________
Good Aperture Everyone! Good reply is always Making me very very happy thanks...
ImageSony A700; sony 18-70mm, 18-250.
My flickr!! http://www.flickr.com/photos/loymercs/
My Blog!! http://loymercsclick.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:44 am
Posts: 28
alright. but the thing is that the wireless remote was made later/after the A200/100, right? Now these are replaced by the A230 and A330, which is listed as compatible with the remote control.

I dunno I'm confused :) guess I have to drag my butt to the sony store and try it out...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:19 am
Posts: 792
Location: Philippines
dslrisfun wrote:
:) guess I have to drag my butt to the sony store and try it out...


And thats the best to do! i love to have some picture with the 2 second delay shutter of that remote its just realy nice to be with the group shots :wink:

and wait please do check in your drive if your camera have a feature of the remote drive because it must have that in order for you to activate the remote commander mode... :)

_________________
Good Aperture Everyone! Good reply is always Making me very very happy thanks...
ImageSony A700; sony 18-70mm, 18-250.
My flickr!! http://www.flickr.com/photos/loymercs/
My Blog!! http://loymercsclick.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:18 pm
Posts: 176
Any remote shutter release, wireless or wired designed for any of the Sony Alpha cameras will work. The input is this little I believe 4 pin jack.

Pick up a wireless trigger off of ebay for about ~$20.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Aputure-Wireless-Re ... 911.c0.m14

_________________
flickr

Sony α300
Sony HVL-F58AM Bounce-Shift Flash
Tamron SP 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF)
Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di
Sony 50mm F/1.4 SAL-50F14
Sony 100mm Macro F/2.8 SAL-100MF28


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:44 am
Posts: 28
thx for the product rec i will check it out if the sony doesn't work.

sony is only 29.99 btw :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 5:18 pm
Posts: 176
dslrisfun wrote:
thx for the product rec i will check it out if the sony doesn't work.

sony is only 29.99 btw :)


OH WAIT.

That only works on the A700 and A900 (possibly the A850).

Don't get it for your A200!!!!

It's mainly for slideshows and taking pictures of yourself from in front of the camera.

Get the one I linked because it works off of a radio signal. I love mine. You can be on a different end of the house in two opposite rooms or across a big field and it triggers nicely.

_________________
flickr

Sony α300
Sony HVL-F58AM Bounce-Shift Flash
Tamron SP 17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF)
Tamron SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di
Sony 50mm F/1.4 SAL-50F14
Sony 100mm Macro F/2.8 SAL-100MF28


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 2:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:44 am
Posts: 28
^ hmm I need something like that to take self portraits ...

I guess the third party one will work :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 6941
Location: The Netherlands, Ridderkerk
Yep, the Sony wireless remote doesn't work with entry level cameras. Only the A700, A850 and A900 work with it. And perhaps the A5x0, not sure about those...

- Bjorn -

_________________
Street and documentary photographer | Google+ | Twitter
Please vote for my photo(s) in a contest


Leica M9-P (my article on Camera Labs) | Leica D-Lux 5 | 50mm Summilux


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:44 am
Posts: 28
dr4gon wrote:
Any remote shutter release, wireless or wired designed for any of the Sony Alpha cameras will work. The input is this little I believe 4 pin jack.

Pick up a wireless trigger off of ebay for about ~$20.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Aputure-Wireless-Re ... 911.c0.m14


thanks for the rec. have you bought from them before? just making sure they're reliable

edit: lol! i just bought it. they seem like a good company


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group