Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:33 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:02 pm 

Until now, I've had no interest in post processing aside from occasional brightening a stop and cropping. I've been shooting using the best JPG setting on my camera.

I just started playing around with RAW using the Image Data Converter that came with my A300. Honestly, I'm not sure it's worth the added time it takes to open and convert photos to JPG. I still find myself only cropping and brightening for the most part. The slides for the white balance don't seem to make a noticable difference. Neither does the sharpening tool.

Perhaps I am not using this software properly, but its editing tools seem pretty weak. Is it really pointless to shoot RAW if I'm not using a more robust program like Photoshop? Anyone have any tips for me?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:31 pm 

I once opened a RAW file in the Sony software and closed it right away. Not very convenient software, it doesn't work for me. However, I've fallen in love with Photoshop RAW processing. Allows me to get better results than with normal JPEG processing.

- Bjorn -

Leica M9-P (my article on Camera Labs) | Leica D-Lux 5 | 50mm Summilux

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:19 am 
Please use Adobe Lightroom 2.0. Your photos will thank you.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:55 am 

Sublimity wrote:
Please use Adobe Lightroom 2.0. Your photos will thank you.

I just did a little research on that product, and it seems to be exactly what I'm looking for. Thank you very much for the advice.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:39 pm 
Bjorn, I thought you shot JPEG? o.O

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 5:56 pm 

pgtips wrote:
Bjorn, I thought you shot JPEG? o.O