Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: K200D Card problem
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 3:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 3:05 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Ok so im a bit angry at the moment. A few weeks ago I bought a 4gig SDHC and it worked fine so far. Today I went out and took around a 100 pictures and now half of them are not displaying on my camera. It gives me a " Cannot display image" when I try to view them. Is it the card or is it my K200D? Anyone have the same problem?

_________________
Flickr
Model Mayhem
Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 1:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:09 am
Posts: 70
Location: Australia
Try format the card inside the camera.

_________________
Pentax user


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 2:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:18 am
Posts: 1781
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
byte wrote:
Try format the card inside the camera.


YIKES :shock:
Won't that wipe the card clean?

Are you doing anything differant slick?
Do you plug cam into the puter or use a card reader?

I upgraded to a 4GB with the new cam.
Had to buy a newer reader becuase the card is high capacity :roll:
Didn't know that til I got home and had to call store...fella says
"well you'll have to drop in and purchase a new reader"
Yeah that'd be all good if I lived there...60km away :roll:
Until I got the new reader I was plugging cam direct to puter to download them.

_________________
Pentax K-5
Pentax 18-55mm,Pentax 50-200mm,Sigma 17-70mm,Sigma 70-300mm, Sigma 50-500mm
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 2:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:09 am
Posts: 70
Location: Australia
kpr wrote:
byte wrote:
Try format the card inside the camera.


YIKES :shock:
Won't that wipe the card clean?

After backing up the card contents of course...

_________________
Pentax user


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 3:05 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
yeah well I think ive learned my lesson on buying a cheap 4 gig SDHC. Its one I got at Staples and looks like a scan disk but its really a company called Core Micro. It came with a USB card reader that you can stick into one of your front USB ports. Funny thing is that the computer reads EVERY picture but the camera doesnt.

I just got fed up and went and bought a SanDisk Extreme III 4gig instead. Its a faster card anyway and it seems to be what everyone else is using these days. Ill just keep the old card as a back up in my camera bag.

That is really crappy about having to go back to the store. You'd think they would ask you if you needed one before hand. I think I may just connect the camera to the PC for now on. These card readers seem to screw everything up or at least it did this time for me.

_________________
Flickr
Model Mayhem
Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:18 am
Posts: 1781
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
I actually prefer the reader myself.
I have always used one just to save battery life and not have the camera attached to a power source.
The one I had been using was old.

Glad it was nothing worse. :wink:

_________________
Pentax K-5
Pentax 18-55mm,Pentax 50-200mm,Sigma 17-70mm,Sigma 70-300mm, Sigma 50-500mm
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 12:39 pm
Posts: 601
Location: France
Bonjour

I've experienced the same problem with SD card.

I changed my old Transcend SD-card 2 GB 150x for a new SDHC-card 4 GB SanDisk Ultra II.

Image

Burst mode is now fully operational on my K10D. Have a look at my gallery :arrow: The Wave Sequence, shot last summer on burst mode at high speed 1/3000. Speed averages 3.5 fps.

There's no comparison with older card, as reported :arrow: here :)

_________________
--- rei_vilo
Pentax K-5 + BG4 + DA* 16-50 + DA* 50-135 + DA* 60-250 + AF-540FGZ
reivilophotography.weebly.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2009 3:05 pm
Posts: 446
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
hi rei,

Yes I notice quite a difference in the new card. The speed is a lot better when shooting multiple shots. The card says it is up to 30MB's per second 200X. Plus I got it at half the price. Was $80 but i got it for $46. I should have bought this card in the first place. Just goes to show you cant cheap out on some things.

P. S thats quite a thread you had going there about those cards.

_________________
Flickr
Model Mayhem
Facebook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 1:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 4:57 am
Posts: 21
this happened to me once...but its after i edit the pictures in picasa, then save it back to the card, then the camera says the same thing... :?
maybe that is the firmware doesnt allow me to do that...but ur case is different... :roll:
im using the kingston 8gb hcsd...pretty good...fairly cheap


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group