Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:53 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Older vs. Newer Model?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:33 pm 

I'd basically decided on purchasing a Pentax k200d when I started looking into the k10d. The k20d is out of my price range, but I found that I could still get a refurbished or demo model k10d body (complete with 1-yr warranty) cheaper than the k200d body.

I'm looking to get a set-up with Pentax DA 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AL II and 55-300mm f/4-5.8 ED lenses.

I have four major questions:

-How comparable are the k10d and k200d in terms of features? I've read reviews of both, but since I'm relatively new to photography I haven't been able to see the subtle nuances between the two.

-Is it worth purchasing a mid-level, older model over an entry-level, newer model?

-Will an older DSLR body work with newer lenses? (i.e. the k10d was released before either the 18-55 AL II or the 55-300mm)

-Has anyone ever purchased a demo or refurbished camera body before? Are there risks involved if a 1-yr Pentax warranty is included?

If you guys were making the decision, what would you go for? The k10d or the k200d? Or perhaps something else entirely?

I'd really appreciate any advice!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:39 pm 

Hi jaxzwolf,

As you have "decided on the brand" I've moved this thread over to the Pentax section where you'll get the best advice.

Bob.

Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:42 pm 

Sorry Bob- I briefly considered posting in the Pentax forum but it's been relatively slow lately, and general opinions are always welcome!

Thanks for moving it.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 11:53 pm